iCOMPOSE

By Tobiloba Funsized Adeola

28 TRUTHS and a lie

I am sincerely tired of a new age,
But isn’t that the treasure that unleashes a new journey, phase, step and time,
One thing is pure gold to me about being born in the 90s,
The significance of belonging to the harvest generation,
Although, not many know, understand or believe it,
But the lights keep shining upon us and I am a witness,

And the truth shall set you free jpeg

I get to grow into harnessing the child in me and all the creativity that it manifests,
I get to grow into voicing my thoughts and becoming so loud about it if I want,
I get to grow into choosing what I want to become before I remember what was lined up for me by tradition,
I get to grow into understanding how gratitude has invested heavy in all that I am and will ever be,
I get to grow into spotting the massive difference between selfless and self love and discerning which is best for me,
I get to grow into valuing giving than taking,
I get to grow into realising that people take advantage of kindness that they claim is so rare than crazy.

Crazy is respected a lot.


I get to grow into moving at my pace because the one in me is greater than the one in the world,
I get to grow into acknowledging how much of a big deal it is to have parents who never pressured me about my course of study, marriage or kids,
I get to grow into kissing my scars so they only remind not dread me of the past I have conquered,
I get to grow into staring at me in the mirror from head to toe and embrace my entirety,
I get to grow into truly living and not just existing,
I get to grow into directing kind words at me even at the point of scolding,
I get to keep growing regardless of how high or low my age sounds.


Some speak of this generation as though it was the superlative of bad,
Neglecting all the altars that have buried tears, pain, rants, blood of those who fought and were fought back,
If your present self had a chance to exist a decade in my mother’s generation,
And break down all that is they had then and what we have now,
You’d recite a whole lot both based on sentiments and objective,
But let’s just drop that since they say comparison is the thief of joy,
I was created for this generation for so many reasons and I believe this is not where it ends,
Did I mention It is indeed euphoric to be another 365 days older?

RESIST THE URGE TO READ ALONE

spread the WORD

8 thoughts on “iCOMPOSE”

Leave a comment